The Monasteries of Meteora

One of the most important monuments in the world and the second largest monastic center in Greece – after Mount Athos. The complex of six (6) monasteries, known as Meteora, was built as a shelter in inaccessible sandstone towers. The first eremites arrived here in the 11th century and between the 13th and 16th centuries they built twenty-four monasteries. Due to their religious and historical value, Meteora is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Monasteries you meet on the imposing rocks of Meteora are the following: The Monastery of Great Meteoron, the Monastery of Varlaam, the Monastery of Roussanou, the Monastery of St. Nikolaos, the Monastery of St. Stephen, the Monastery of Holy Trinity.

Holy Monastery of the Holy Cross at Doliana 

A unique post-Byzantine monument of the 18th century. The impressive church is surrounded by a green forest and is one of the most beautiful sights in the area of Aspropotamos. The Church of the Holy Cross is the main church of the Monastery and is dedicated to the Virgin Mary.


A journey through space, time, and geology